Saturday, June 3

PSL 2019 Schedule – Matches scheduled in Lahore shifted to Karachi!

14th Feb (Thu)Opening Ceremony Match 1 - IU vs LQ Dubai
15th Feb (Fri)Match 2 - MS vs KKMatch 3 - PZ vs QGDubai
16th Feb (Sat)Match 4 - IU vs MSMatch 5 - LQ vs KKDubai
17th Feb (Sun)Match 6 - IU vs QGMatch 7 - PZ vs LQDubai
20th Feb (Wed)Match 8 - QG vs MSSharjah
21st Feb (ThuMatch 9 - PZ vs KKSharjah
22nd Feb (Fri)Match 10 - MS vs LQMatch 11 - IU vs PZSharjah
23rd Feb (Sat)Match 12 - QG vs LQMatch 13 - IU vs KKSharjah
24th Feb (Sun) Match 14 - PZ vs MSMatch 15 - QG vs KKSharjah
26th Feb (Tue)Match 16 - MS vs IUDubai
27th Feb (Wed)Match 17 - LQ vs QGMatch 18 KK vs IUDubai
28th Feb (Thu)Match 19 - MS vs PZMatch 20 - KK vs LQDubai
1st Mar (Fri)Match 21 - PZ vs IUMatch 22 - MS vs QGDubai
4th Mar (Mon)Match 23 - QG vs PZMatch 24 - KK vs MSAbu Dhabi
5th Mar (Tue)Match 25 - LQ vs PZMatch 26 - QG vs IUAbu Dhabi
9th Mar (Sat)Match 27 - LQ vs IUKarachi
10th Mar (Sun)Match 28 - KK vs QGKarachi
11th Mar (Mon)Match 29 - LQ vs MSMatch 30 - KK vs PZKarachi
13th Mar (Wed)PSL 2019 Qualifier 1 (1 vs 2)Karachi
14th Mar (Thu)PSL 2019 Eliminator 1 (3 vs 4)Karachi
15th Mar (Fri)PSL 2019 Eliminator 2Karachi
17th Mar (Sun)PSL 2019 FinalKarachi

UAE Timings

Day: 4 30 pm PST / Night: 9 pm PST

Pakistan Timings

Day: 2 pm PST /Night: 7 pm PST

All PSL matches scheduled in Lahore now shifted to Karachi!

On Sunday 3rd March, PCB chairman Ehsan Mani announced that all matches that were scheduled to be played in Lahore are now shifted to Karachi. According to the original PSL schedule, 3 out of the 8 matches in Pakistan were to be played in Lahore. Matches in Lahore were to be played on 9,10 and 12 March.

Why were the matches shifted?

Due to India-Pakistan war situation, the commercial flights were blocked in Lahore airspace. This caused delay in the opening of Lahore airport and caused extreme inconvenience to the organizers. The major challenges were securing the production equipment and commitment of the broadcast crew and making arrangements for the players and officials. The PCB chairman said that it was a difficult decision to make but they had considered alternatives like shifting the Lahore matches to Karachi and the matches scheduled in Karachi to Lahore but that created even further inconvenience. He also said that they had made efforts to change the dates and push the schedule a bit further but that was not possible since the Pakistan Cricket Team has to leave for UAE on March 19 for their series against Australia. The chairman further said that the PCB has talked to the franchises which have shown great support for the decision and all foreign players will play the matches in Pakistan.
PCB will refund all tickets for the Lahore Match!

PSL History

Pakistan Super League is one of the most exciting cricket leagues of the world. Initiated by former PCB chairman Najam Sethi, PSL is a platform for reviving cricket in Pakistan and bringing forward new and young talent.
Check out: How much did PSL franchises cost and how they earn money?


PSL started in 2016 and it came out as a huge success. There were 5 teams, Islamabad United, Quetta Gladiators, Peshawar Zalmi, Lahore Qalandars and Karachi Kings. All matches were played in the UAE: Dubai and Sharjah. There were a total of 20 matches in the group stages and then four teams qualified for the playoffs. Islamabad United won the PSL 1 2016 Final at Dubai and lifted the first PSL trophy.
Check out: PSL 2019 Teams and Categories


In 2017, PSL 2 came back even better with more exciting players in the line up. The stakes became high after the huge success of PSL 1. The schedule was similar with 20 group matches, 2 eliminators, 1 qualifier match, and the Final. All of the matches were played in Dubai and Sharjah except the final which was played at Lahore on March 05 between Quetta Gladiators and Peshawar Zalmi. Peshawar Zalmi won the match by 58 runs and became the second team to lift the PSL trophy and the winner of PSL 2 2017.


In 2018, PSL 3 came strong with 6 teams due to addition of Multan Sultans. This time, there was a lot more since there were 30 matches in the group stages. The play offs were played in similar fashion, with 2 eliminators and 1 qualifier followed up by the final of PSL 3. Islamabad United won the PSL 3 Final against Peshawar Zalmi by 3 wickets at Karachi. They became the first team to lift the PSL trophy twice! The PSL 3 was a huge step forward in bringing cricket back to Pakistan. The 2 eliminators and the final were played in Pakistan with lots of international players showing up for the match.


PSL 4 2019 features the same teams and the same number of group stage matches (30) as PSL 3. Each team will go head to head with every other team twice in the group stages. The last 8 matches of the PSL 4 will be played in Pakistan with the rest being played in the UAE. The matches in Pakistan will be played at Lahore and Karachi, the two major cities of Pakistan. All the tickets have been sold out already!
Also Have a look at: PSL Points Table 2019
Refresh the PSL 2018 moments with : PSL 2018 Points table and Play off Results

About Author

Comments are closed.